Eurograde Safes

Euro Grade BadgeEurograde safes are safes which have been tested to the European burglar resistance standard known as EN 1143. There are two variants of this standard, the EN 1143-1 for traditional single door cash safes, and EN 1143-2 which applies to deposit safes.

The requirements for the Eurograde standard are decided by the European Centre for Standardization. These standards are then enacted by each member state, meaning that the exact same tests are carried out to the same stringent levels in every country. The standard may be given a slightly different name in each country, such as BS EN 1143-1:2012 in the UK. This indicates it has become a British Standard (BS) and was enacted in 2012. In general, safe manufacturers will refer to the standard as simply EN 1143.

At present, there are 8 grades within the Eurograde system, with Grade 0 representing the lowest security level and Grade VII (or 7) representing the highest. As you would expect, cash and valuable ratings vary according to each grade. The cash and valuables ratings also vary from country to country based on various factors.

In the UK, the cash ratings given by the insurance industry for these European standards are (in £1,000′s):

EN 1143-1 Grade 0

EN 1143-1 Grade I

EN 1143-1 Grade II

EN 1143-1 Grade III

EN 1143-1 Grade IV

EN 1143-1 Grade V

EN 1143-1 Grade VI

EN 1143-1 Grade VII









The valuables rating is always ten times the cash rating. For example, a Grade 0 safe has a cash rating of £6,000 and a valuables rating of £60,000.

Different countries in the EU may decide upon different values for each of these grades. Grade VII safes are quite rare and many UK insurers will not provide cover because of the high cost involved. Those that do will generally agree upon a £250,000 rating, but this may vary.

When testing a safe under the Eurograde system, a testing laboratory collects a random sample safe from the manufacturer’s production line and brings it to the testing facility. Once there, the lab’s experienced safe breakers will perform a series of tests and attempt to breach the safe. These tests include determining how securely the safe can be anchored, as well as how well the walls and doors fend off attack without being breached . Certain safes, particularly very high security models, may be tested for their ability to resist drill attacks, gas and explosives.

Safes that pass the EN 1143 test usually carry a blue badge on the inside of the door indicating the grade achieved (from 0 to 7) as well as the testing facility which performed the test.

You can find out more about the EN 1143-1 test in our article examining the test in detail.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr
  • StumbleUpon